August 2014 Crazy Train Riders

1 Aug

THE SUNNY SIDE BIZ

”  In the early 70’s, I made long dresses from colorful cotton bedspreads printed in India, macramed belts and jewelry, denim bags and muslin peasant blouses and sold them in the shop my mother, my aunt and I owned and operated in Brielle, NJ called The Deck House. Those were halcyon days at the Jersey Shore. Now that I have discovered that same entrepreneurial spirit and the time to sit and sew and create whatever I want, my obsessive creative disorder and I are on The Sunny Side. “

TROCHE WOOD DESIGNS

” I am a young Old Guy who retired at 62 and have not looked backward even 1 day, and find that there are still not enough hours in the day to get the things done that I want to.My week days start at 4:30AM. I am a member of the Rome, NY YMCA and play racquetball 3 days a week and do the treadmill/bike and jacuzzi 2 days. I take off Saturday and Sunday but usually get up early on those days too. The rest of the day is spent in my “shop”, blowing snow, or mowing the grass depending on the season. I really take great pleasure creating something useful from a piece of wood that will last for years. The most rewarding thing about my woodworking is to see a “happy person” with something I created. Nothing leaves my shop until it is in perfect condition. I have “unique” Cutting Boards/Cheese Boardsthat come in the shaped of an Apple, piece of Bread, Moose, Wine Bottle, Sailboat, Owl to name a few, There is also a number of “Mini” Cutting boards for you to look at. A selection of “Coasters” are also out there in addition to many other items. Please contact me with any questions or requests. “

VDR FAMILY

” precious and glass beads with traditional and modern centerpieces and crucifixes. I design my rosaries and chaplets for both for everyday use and for their unique design.  “

ANDRUS GARDENS

”  A degree in horticulture, and working in that industry have greatly influenced my art. Most of the fabrics I use in my original designs are hand painted and(or) sunprinted by me to achieve colors and textures that can not be found in stores. Sunprinting on fabric can give many surprising results- the paint never dries the same way twice (It really can be fun to watch paint dry), and my gardens supply me with the many flowers and leaves I use for the sunprints. My photos of flowers and more from gardens or in the wild, are now finding their way into my art after I print them onto fabric. The beauty of this earth we have been given to live in, with it’s flowers, gardens and rock formations is the main inspiration for my fabrics and art.
I began writing and selling patterns for my gift items so that others can make them with their own fabrics and creative styles (find them in my AndrusGardensDesigns shop here on ArtFire or at Craftsy.com). I love sharing creative knowledge through my blog, teaching workshops and lecturing. “

ARTISTIC CREATIONS BY ROSE

“I have been Creating Art as long as I can remember… I remember drawing the cartoons when I was a Very Small child.  I’ve always loved to Create Beautiful Things.  Anytime I can take something ordinary and turn it into a Beautiful piece of Art,  it is so Amazing!  I am a self taught Portrait Artist,  but I love working with all types of mediums,such as Pencil, Acrylic, Oil, Ceramic, Wire, Stone, just to name a few…. All of the Jewelry on this site is Handmade by myself… I really enjoy making Original, Artistic “One of a Kind” Jewelry! When I wear my Pendant Necklaces, Sooo many people say to me…….  “I LOVE your Necklace!” “It’s Really Different!”…

AUNTIE CHRIS QUILT FABRIC

” AUNTIE CHRIS AFFORDABLE QUILT FABRICS We carry quilt shop quality fabrics without the quilt shop prices, affordable quilting/sewing kits and patterns. Quality fabrics will make a difference in the appearance and longevity of your finished projects. We strive to find beautiful, interesting and quality fabrics for less. We have hundreds of items to populate my shop, please check back often. Affordable heirlooms start here. Will happily ship a fat eighth to a whole bolt if that’s what you need. Always adding new items and surprises!! “

  AYA DESIGNS

” I’m an Army Brat who was born in France to a U.S. Dad and French Mom. I grew up in Europe and Turkey and was lucky enough to have traveled all over the world. I still love the traveling and seeing the fashions and styles of other countries … which I love incorporating into my “style”. “

 ANDREA DESIGNS

” Welcome to my shop. My name is Andrea, I was born and raised in Lima-Peru, Southamerica. I love to knit and create different things like jewelry, cards, you name it. I design scarves, ponchos, shawls, baby clothing etc. In general I handknit, however sometimes I used a knitting machine. I was a knitting machine instructor. I did all my clothing, including dresses, jacquets, sweaters, pants, baby clothing, and more. When I got married (21 years ago) and came to the USA, I did not bring my knitting machine with me (big mistake); after several years working as a Call Center Supervisor, I thought I could buy a knitting machine to do stuff for me and my husband, and have a small busniness. I started to research in my city for places to buy one, I found out in the States the knitting machines are very expensive, more than $1000 dollars, depending on the brand, and very difficult to get one in my own city, checking in the internet I got a seller 35 miles from my city, and I got the knitting machine from her. First of all, I wanted to start making scarves, but the end product was not what I was expecting …because I did not know were to find yarn in my city; I again started searching the internet for places, brands, and..I discovered a new world…I fall in love with yarn that I could not use in my knitting machine, in order to use the yarn that I like it so much, I will need to use the needles and crochet again….I design gorgeous scarves, shawls, ponchos, baby clothing, scarfette using beautiful yarns combining differents types of textures, that is soft to the skin, light, comfortable, elegant and breath taking. My goal is reached when my customer is happy with the product she has chosen and tells me she was asked… .WHERE DID YOU GET THAT? IT IS SO BEAUTIFUL.!.. I am in the Master Knitter Program to become a Master Knitter”

BEAD SOUK

” I have a large collection of silver beads, gemstones, some crystals and cabochons. New items added every day. My goal is to provide buyers with unique quality beading supplies and sell them in smaller quantities. I am also a jewelry artist specializing in unique handmade jewelry in a variety of styles and colors. My jewelry pieces can be found at: http://dianesdangles.artfire.com”

BITS PEACES

” I am a Rag Quilter. I have been experimenting with traditional quilting also. I love to mix both styles.”

 CLASSY ART GLASS

” Our home is in Lake Mary, Florida and we have been married for nineteen years. My husband Jack, has over thirty three years experience as an award-winning Art Director with various design and advertising agencies, then for his own successful graphic design firm. He puts his talents to work now by making lampwork beads and jewelry. I (Mary) have always been attracted to anything that sparkled, and what sparkles as much as jewelry? “Glass”. I was very lucky to find a friend that taught me how to create beautiful beads, starting out with a glass rod and melting it like butter. Form it, roll it, and add more color! I then passed what she showed me to my husband and look where it has taken us! Visit our gallery of Classy Art Glass to see the beautiful glass he has created. What could be more fun doing something you love?!! “

Leave a Reply

