November Crazy Train Riders for 2013

1 Nov

MAD DAISY JEWELRY

” I am a mother of two with a great supportive husband. We have had many challenges in our life together with having an Autistic son whom we love with all are hearts. My daughter and I had started making jewelry a few years back which had given us the much needed one on one time together. We love spending time together creating. Beside creating together we love to go for bike rides and spend time camping in our RV as a family.”

Men’s leather bracelet

RELIC BAY

” Welcome to Lost Bay and Bazodee Bazaar!  There’s three of us – Brian, Milton, and Clayton (that’s Milton in the picture). Brian lives in Seattle and covers the Pacific Northwest looking for unique and interesting items. Milton and nephew Clayton live in the central Florida area and concentrate mostly on antiques and collectibles.  The items we feature are gathered from estate sales, flea markets, picking old barns, little shops, antique dealers, and generally ‘picking’.

Our passion is unique, old treasures and oddities. We enjoy the short period of time we can own a really unique item that’s posted for sale. If we can’t look at it over and over again with pleasure then it’s not something we want in our store.

When buying antiques and collectibles condition of the item is very important.  We understand how difficult it is to purchase an antique online.  You can’t hold it, rub the edges looking for chips, feel the age, or study the work.”

Dresser Tray

INLET IMAGES

” As a photographer, I am truly blessed to live in Murrells Inlet, South Carolina. This geographic area is rich in photogenic scenery and fabulous wildlife. Mother nature at her finest!    An avid photographer since 1974 I have had the incredible opportunity to travel the world while serving over 20 years in the United States Navy. Having lived and visited so many different places gives me a unique perspective on nature and wildlife of regions I visit today.    My gallery hosts many genres of photography, from landscapes to wildlife photography of birds and woodland creatures. These durable prints will be the perfect addition to any room in your home or office.”

Macaw

JILLS TREASURE CHEST

“I am a mother of 3 and grandmother to 1 living, working, and having fun in Mississippi.  I have been involved with some sort of crafting since I was a teenager.  Over the years I have evolved from sewing and crocheting and knitting, to making jewelry, paper items, wood working, ceramics and pottery. I’ve sold these items in craft shows, craft malls, my own gift shop, and online.
It gives me a great deal of happiness when someone loves something I’ve made.  I’ve chosen to focus on my jewelry in this shop.  Since I love wearing jewelry, especially earrings, this has been a labor of love.”

zigzag earrings in blue

HCL TREASURES

“Both of us enjoy being creative and working on crafts.

Charlie found his “nitch” working with glass. We find it so exciting when our pieces come out of the kiln! The best part is you are forever learning different techniques with all types of glass. So it’s never boring or tedious.

It’s alot of hard work but we are a team. While Charlie makes the pendants, I’m the one that put the embellishments on some of the tiles. But the “Baker” is Charlie!

I’m taking the pictures and loading them up. And doing the write ups. We are always tweaking and trying to make the descriptions better.”

fused glass guitar pendant

Katty Candles and Jewelry

“My name is Kate. I make a wide variety of jewelry (I’m saving up money for college so I can get my doctorate in Physics). All the jewelry is handmade and designed by myself. I have been making jewelry since I was old enough not to want to eat the beads. I make necklaces, bracelets, anklets, earrings, and even chainmail items of the same categories. I also love to paint (watercolor and acrylics are my fav painting mediums), so I hand paint metal charms.

Some of my other hobbies include reading (all genres, but mostly fantasy), writing, drawing (black and white charcoal as well as India ink are my favorite drawing mediums) singing, and cooking Korean food.

My mom’s name is Kathryn (but most people call her Kat) and she is the candle maker 🙂 She is a writer as well as a stay at home mom with three crazy kids (me being the craziest of them all).

Some of her other hobbies include reading, gardening, playing sims, and being snuggled to death by her crazy-for-her cat, Henry Calcifer (seriously, he likes to play “scarf” with Kat and only tolerates everyone else).

Together we make candles with jewelry in them!”

candle with a piece of jewelry in it

 

ORIENTAL FINDS

“Hello! I’m Faith. I have been designing my own label of ecofriendly handbags for the past 4 years. Prior to being full time in my small business since last year, I have been a general physician for ten years. I’m putting my profession on hold for now so that I can have more time to be a mother, wife, sister and a daughter to my cancer survivor mother and aging father, and at the same time pursue my passion.

All the fabrics I use are either handwoven, hand loomed or crocheted by local hand weavers from different parts of the Philippine. Hand weaving is the livelihood of many farmers here in the Philippines when it is not sowing nor harvesting season to put food on their tables. I want to help them by buying their fabrics. I think the fabrics are the most beautiful parts of my handbags. I’m proud of our local handwoven fabrics and I want to promote them to the world.

I have a small team actually: Charles makes the handle, Glorienda makes the body of the bag, Eden makes the top zipper and embellishments while I design all  my bags and buy all the stuff we need for the handbags. I am also helping these 3 people because they don’t have work anymore. They used to work in my auntie’s handbag factory which closed in 2006 due to global recession.

I believe each of our handbag is beautiful because it is a result of a collaboration of talents.”

eco friendly bag

 

TRINKETS AND TREASURES

“I saw a flyer for a silver art clay class and thought it would be fun, I loved it.  I wanted to add  beads to one of my metal art clay pieces so I took a class in beading. I just kept taking more classes, wire wrapping, pearl knotting, chain maille, and fused glass, lapidary, metalsmithing. I took a few more silver art clay classes &  I decided to become a certified instructor in silver art clay.  I am always taking some kind of class, I love learning. I made a studio in my home and spend all my free time creating something, learning new ways and new things to create.  I also love the beach, fossil hunting, rock hounding and reading.”

Runner

VIRTUALLY YOURS

“”Choose a job you love and you will never work a day in your life.” – Confucius said it and I believe it.   For me, graphic and web design is that left brain, right brain, exhilarating combination of logic and creativity “job” that keeps me on The Sunny Side.   I can spend hours playing around on Photoshop and am really enjoying making banners and avatars. There are a zillion image files on this computer that I’ve created over the last 5 years.  Plenty of new listings coming.  You do not have to fully understand the internet to take advantage of all the opportunities out there.  You just need someone you can trust.   If you need a banner, avatar, website, a redesign or someone to update an existing site, I would love the opportunity to help you make it happen.   Virtually yours, Trish Cox  The Sunny Side Dot Biz, LLC”

create your own

WOODTICKS

“My name is Donna, I was born and raised in New Hampshire. I am married to the LOVE OF MY LIFE and have two wonderful teenagers, yes I said WONDERFUL and teenager all in the same sentence. My kids are my world and I have to admit… I am pretty proud of the people they have become.

I have always loved crafting and have been taking my talents to craft shows and fairs for almost 12+ years now. I used to spend a lot of time making dried flower arrangements or candle making, but once I started stenciling quotes onto pieces of wood I truly became inspired. The fact that reading an inspirational saying or something funny at a certain moment can really cheer you up or just make you simply feel good about your life and the people in it.”

Love

ANDRUS GARDENS

” A degree in horticulture, and working in that industry have greatly influenced my art. Most of the fabrics I use in my original designs are hand painted and(or) sunprinted by me to achieve colors and textures that can not be found in stores. Sunprinting on fabric can give many surprising results- the paint never dries the same way twice (It really can be fun to watch paint dry), and my gardens supply me with the many flowers and leaves I use for the sunprints. My photos of flowers and more from gardens or in the wild, are now finding their way into my art after I print them onto fabric.    The beauty of this earth we have been given to live in, with it’s flowers, gardens and rock formations is the main inspiration for my fabrics and art.”

brag book

ANGELAS ADORNMENTS

“I’m 40something….Married to my best friend for 31 years. We have two adult children and six beautiful grandchildren.

I create my Art Jewelry and other artistic endeavors in my studio in our Wichita KS home which we share with our cat Oreo.

It has just been since our kids grew up and resources became a bit more plentiful that I discovered my visually artistic side.

When I was a child and teenager I was more musically artistic, playing violin, piano and singing.   I also was a member of Wichita Metropolitan Ballet, dancing in yearly productions of The Nutcracker Suite as well as other 1970’s ballet productions.

Once I grew up and had a family I found this other artistic side of me that I am enjoying exploring as much as when I was a kid in orchestra.  I am continually finding and learning new and interesting things to make/paint.

I call myself a spoiled artist instead of a starving artist because my fabulous husband has the “real job” of the family which affords me the opportunity to stay home and play and sell my art.  You can’t get any better than that!”

wire wrapped cuff bracelet

AUNTIE CHRIS QUILT FABRIC

” AUNTIE CHRIS AFFORDABLE QUILT FABRICS  We carry quilt shop quality fabrics without the quilt shop prices, affordable quilting/sewing kits and patterns. Quality fabrics will make a difference in the appearance and longevity of your finished projects. I strive to find beautiful, interesting and quality fabrics for less. I have hundreds of items to populate my shop, please check back often. Affordable heirlooms start here.  Will happily ship a fat eighth to a whole bolt if that’s what you need.  Always adding new items and surprises!!”

Mantel Scarf

BEADSOUK

” I have a large collection of silver beads, gemstones, some crystals and cabochons. New items added every day. My goal is to provide buyers with unique quality beading supplies and sell them in smaller quantities. I am also a jewelry artist specializing in unique handmade jewelry in a variety of styles and colors. My jewelry pieces can be found at: http://dianesdangles.artfire.com”

Topaz and Citrine

CREATIVE CRITTERS

“I have been an artist since I was child with my first lump of Play Doh.  I have always enjoyed working with clay and discovered polymer clay in my late teens.  I love animals, nature, and the world of fantasy and this is reflected in my sculptures.  I also enjoy a large variety of crafts, and like to try new things.  Several years ago I started making cloth dolls, which have been a huge hit with my nieces and friend’s children.  I even had one of my dolls featured in “Today’s Creative Home Arts”.  The dolls make wonderful gifts for children or doll collectors.  Recently I began making jewelry with polymer clay and a variety of beads.  I’m inspired by bold colors and interesting shapes.  I also make very detailed miniature polymer clay houses surrounded with beautiful landscaping.  One of my log cabins was featured in the October 2008 issue of Polymer Cafe magazine.  Fantasy has always lighted a creative spark in me, and many of my sculptures sprang into life with that spark.  Fairies, wizards, gnomes, trolls, and dragons have all been sculpted over the course of my artistic career.  “Scorch the Rockin’ Dragon” was featured in the February 2009 issue of Polymer Cafe magazine.  My most recent work would be the World of Warcraft plush characters.  While I don’t play myself, my mother and brothers do and they prompted me to try my hand at recreating these interesting creatures.  I try to put as much detail as possible into my work, and spend many hours getting it “just right”.  I also strive very hard to provide excellent customer service and communication.  I try to use recycled materials as well- everything has a use!  I never throw out clothing, old purses, or trinkets that could be turned into something new.”

Santa

 

Leave a Reply

