The Singing Beader: Featured Artisan

6 Jan

The Singing Beader

How long have you been creating your chosen craft?

The Singing Beader began
creating in April,2009, then started selling on-line in June, 2009.

What are your crafting influences?

My mom and dad were both good with their hands. My dad was a wood pattern maker and my mom sewed a lot of our clothes. I used to sew, knit and crochet before jewelry crafting.
Does anyone in your family do a similar craft?

I’m not sure if anyone else in my extended family makes jewelry, but my immediate family does not do any crafting.
What kinds of places have you displayed your craft in your life?

Besides craft fairs, I have a display of jewelry at my local hair salon. I often sell earrings there. My sister has a cottage at a Lake Erie resort community and I occasionally set up a table and sell there, too.

 

What else do you do besides create these beautiful pieces?

The Singing Beader loves to sing and make recordings. I have learned how to use recording software to mix music with my voice and add all kinds of neat effects. I post my songs on singing websites and have many listening fans. I love rock music, but I also enjoy singing 60’s girl group songs. Here’s a link to my singing page
What is your favorite piece that you have created so far?

There are many favorites, but I’d have to say my Amazonite gemstone necklace, bracelet and earring set. This gemstone is so gorgeous. The stones are so smooth and glossy; they feel so good to the touch.
Why did you make that piece?

I had made several others with the same style and many sold. A friend of mine bought three of them. Each one was made with different gemstones.
What does it take to create pieces like that?

Imagination. Most of the time, I just get an image in my head what I want
to make and what I want it to look like. I rarely use beading patterns or
instructions. This is probably why I always end up with left over gemstones.:)

What is special about your pieces?

Variety and quality. When I first started making jewelry, I was buying gemstones at local craft stores. I learned that the quality wasn’t very good. Now, I buy from either on-line suppliers or gem shows. I love going to gem shows! I also use extra findings in my beaded jewelry, like wire guardian protectors and crimp covers. These findings add a professional finished look. You can also find a lot of variety in my studio,
including a section for music instrument jewelry, featuring music instrument
charm necklaces.

 
What makes this kind of craft “good” to you?

It’s addicting, but addicting in a good way. It’s relaxing, too. I also lost weight
when I started making jewelry. You can’t do it and eat at the same time. But,
you can sing and make jewelry at the same time. Here is a link to the Amazonite
Gemstone Necklace Set

Leave a Reply

