Quote of the day: Temptation

3 Jan

“There is not any memory with less satisfaction than the memory of some temptation we resisted.”

James Branch Cabell (1879 – 1958)

As we enter into the new year, I see many people talking about changing their lives and how hard it will be to resist temptation to hold to those new changes. I see this with people wanting to get into better shape and how hard the temptation to just stay home and watch a new movie instead of heading out for that workout when it is pouring down rain or really cold. I see this with people wishing to lose weight (we do we want to lose weight anyway? I don’t care what that scale says as long as my body FAT levels are going the direction I need) and having to pass up that forbidden food at the company parties or out on a date or even at home when others in the house still want said item to be on hand. Last year when I went gluten-free people wanted to know how could I possibly pass up things like Pizza or bread and my answer was as first that I did miss these items but when my throat swells shut due to wheat and my digestive track and body as a whole can not handle gluten it becomes easy to pass on these things because all of a sudden you feel better than ever in your life. I see most positive life changes in the way that they may be challenging for the first few weeks but then they should be EASY as you feel better physically, emotionally, or spiritually. If you don’t then you might want to take a step back and evaluate if those changes are really for your betterment and not just something that someone says you should do… the one exception to this may be if your physician recommends that change.

Leave a Reply

