Crafted Joy: Featured Artisan

30 Dec

When and how did you first become interested in crafting?

I have done some kind  of crafting for as long as I can remember. I have always loved putting things  together and creating interesting projects with color combinations I felt a  connection to.

How long have you been creating your chosen craft?

I primarily  create Jewelry pieces now. I made strung pieces as a child and learned to work  with metal in my early twenties and learned to create woven jewelry about a year  ago. I love to mix the mediums to create unique one of a kind pieces.

What are  your crafting influences?

For me, colors create emotions and combinations of  color can create moods and connections for the wearer or the people admiring the  jewelry. Love, passion, peace and tranquility are fabulous to portray with a  piece of jewelry.

Does anyone in your family do a similar craft?

No I am the  only person in my family that makes jewelry but my mother and sister knit.

What  kinds of places have you displayed your craft in your life?

My work is in  several local boutiques and gift shops as well as on artfire. I also teach  jewelry making and have in home parties where I make custom jewelry for the  attendees.

What else do you do besides create these beautiful pieces?

I love  photography and scrap booking. I’m not scrap booking much right now but I do  love it and will get back to it soon.

What is your favorite piece that you have  created so far?

I bought a multicolored dress for my birthday party this year  and designed a necklace and bracelet to match it. The dress and jewelry are a  mix of bronze, brown, turquoise, green, purple, and orange. The bronze and brown  are prominent and the other colors compliment each other beautifully.

Why did  you make that piece?

This was my 35th birthday and was extra special because I  had stage 3 cancer in 2009. The colors in the dress signified life and moving  forward to me and I wanted jewelry to accentuate that. The jewelry compliments  the dress beautifully but looks fabulous with several other outfits as well. I  love that I can create pieces to match anything in my wardrobe.

What does it  take to create pieces like that?

Passion and patience. I combined a few  different techniques in making this necklace so I needed to design a combination  that worked and looked the way I imagined.

What is special about your pieces?

Every one of them means something to me. Most of my pieces are one of a kind and  are made with a thought or feeling in mind that I want to portray. Be it fun,  passion, love, peace, hope or something else, I try to make pieces that touch  people with that feeling. I absolutely love when people send me pics of them  wearing my jewelry. I remember every single piece.

What makes this kind of craft  “good” to you?

It indulges my creativity and I can create one of a kind  pieces. I don’t like doing the same thing over and over again. Doing one of a  kind pieces allows me to go with new ideas, designs and color combinations.  During the time I was undergoing cancer treatments and the time is has taken to  recover physically, it gives my hands and mind something to do. It makes me feel  a little more normal and it makes me so happy when someone wears and loves  something I created. I frequently donate pieces and proceeds from various pieces  to charities that are close to my heart.

http://www.artfire.com/ext/shop/studio/Craftedjoy

One Response to “Crafted Joy: Featured Artisan”

  1. craftedjoy January 9, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    Thank you so much for featuring my shop on yourblog. You made my day!

Leave a Reply

