Buttons and Banners: Featured Artisan

23 Dec

http://www.artfire.com/ext/shop/studio/crochet18purple

http://aneedleinthehaystack-debbie.blogspot.com/

http://www.etsy.com/shop/crochet18purple

When and how did you first become interested in crafting?

I have been  crafting for as long as I can remember, I believe I first started with crochet  over 30 years ago

How long have you been creating your chosen craft?

The  digital art about 4 years now and the polymer clay about 12

What are your  crafting influences?

Color. The choices of fibers and clays just make me  want to create.

Does anyone in your family do a similar craft?

No but I  can say I was influenced by my grandmother as she use to crochet alot and wishes  that she still could but at 97 it is hard for her to hold a hook any longer

What kinds of places have you displayed your craft in your life?

In  craft shows and selling my buttons at a local craft shop

What else do you do  besides create these beautiful pieces?

I love to cook, I play the piano,  photography and knit

What is your favorite piece that you have created so  far?

I would have to say my retro diva’s

Why did you make that piece?

I love retro and vintage and by doing my diva’s not only do I get to create  digitally I get to kinda go back in time

What does it take to create pieces  like that?

A lot of time at the computer. I like to use old vintage patterns  that I scan in and then erase backgound’s change colors and make it what I want  it to be

What is special about your pieces?

I believe they are unique. I  put a lot of thought, and time around my digital art some have taken hours to  create but it is something I love to do and I am self taught so each one can be  a new challenge to do

What makes this kind of craft “good” to you?

Since I am not great at drawing and painting per say being able to do this  on my computer brings me lots of creative joy to be able to say wow I did that

image

Leave a Reply

