Wyvern Cesigns: Featured Artisan

16 Dec

http://www.artfire.com/users/WyvernDesigns

When and how did you first become  interested in crafting?
As a child my mother and sister used to buy me these  bags of scrap cloth, lace and sundries from the local fabric shop. Then, as they  were sewing or knitting, I would create my own “masterpieces” from my goody  bag. I think it was their encourage and patience that set me on my crafting  course.

How long have you been creating your chosen craft?
I have been making  jewelry from polymer clay for 10-15 years now.

What are your crafting  influences?
I find Nature is my biggest inspiration and influence in my art.  There is nothing more perfect than the shape and color of a Fall leaf, or the  perfect spiral of a seashell.

Does anyone in your family do a similar craft?
No  one in my family makes crafts jewelry but my sister produces lovely quilts and  purses and my daughter creates fantastic greeting cards.

What kinds of places  have you displayed your craft in your life?
I’ve done a few craft shows but  most of my work is sold on-line here on Art Fire and a few other sites.

What  else do you do besides create these beautiful pieces?
I love to paint and draw.  My current avatar on Art Fire is one of my original watercolors. I also knit,  crochet and sew.

What is your favorite piece that you have created so far?
I  really love the pair of flamingo earrings that I currently have in my Art Fire  shop.

image

Why did you make that piece?
The flamingos were inspired by my sister, who  loves and collects flaming pieces. I crafted her a set of pink flamingo earrings  and pendant.

What does it take to create pieces like that?
Patience is the most  important requirement. most of my pieces have lots of small bits of clay and  patience is a big part of creating them.

What is special about your pieces?
I  try to create pieces that are unique and often whimsical. I find that a lot of  my pieces appeal to a small set of people.

What makes this kind of craft  “good” to you?
Sculpting with clay gives me a fantastic outlet for my creative  drive. I love to see whatever creature I’m working on come to life in my hands.

Leave a Reply

