Zoomgraphik: Featured Artisan

11 Nov

Today we are featuring a fellow Artfire artisan who operates Zoomgraphik from Canada.

When and how did you first become interested in crafting?“Started crafting over 20 years ago in Vancouver ,I was doing only winter shows ( sewing mostly Santa’s, snowman ,ornaments etc…I graduated in fashion design, so sewing for me was natural and it was more fun doing Santa then making clothes!!” How long have you been creating your chosen craft?“I started doing jewelry when fimo was in “vogue”. Did others things until about 2 years ago when I moved back to Montreal and my sister needed jewelry for her new boutique. I was a hit with my stuff, because I was doing big bulky necklaces and everybody loved it.” What are your crafting influences?“My influence, well it depends on what I see that grabs me. When I to China, I bought lots of pearls, jade etc… and I could see what to make with that. My son brought me some wooden beads from Bali; there I could see the fun I can make with it…it just depend on my mood too.” Does anyone in your family do a similar craft?“I show my little sister how to make jewelry, the other one knits.!!~!” What kinds of places have you displayed your craft in your life?“I display my jewelry to a gallery in my neighborhood and others town where lots of tourist goes.” What else do you do besides create these beautiful pieces?“ I  used to design teddy bears .Right now ,I do illustrations for my cards and I am an amateur photograph (I do cards with my photos too)” What is your favorite piece that you have created so far?“Favorite pieces…difficult to say because most of them I kept it.!!!I am bad that way.Well ,It will be a piece i did with my mother old necklace .My father give it to her on their engagement …she didn’t wear it anymore and I redid a new version with it…”What is special about your pieces?“what special about my pieces, well they are one of a kind, maybe similar but never the same and I will redo it 2-3 times if I do not like the look of it or my loop is not that perfect …” What makes this kind of craft “good” to you?

“I like nice things and this is a “good “way to keep me sane and relax.”

To learn more check out her blog, homepage, or facebook account.

Leave a Reply

